movies · Review

In Bruges

In Bruges is a black comedy movie starring Colin Farrell and another-guy-but-I-can’t-remember-his-name. It’s not a new one, dating back several years ago if I remember correctly. The story is about two hitmen who were told to take cover at Bruges, a small town in Belgium, because of a messed up killing. Colin Farrell’s character, Ray, really hates Bruges which is, according to him, a s*ithole while the other guy, Ken, really enjoyed his time there, sightseeing around the town dragging the grumpy Ray with him. It was really funny watching Ray swearing now and again and their boss, Harry was also amusing, what with his love of the F word. Apart from the background of the characters (I’m never comfortable when I have to see prostitutes or drug sellers or anything like it), I really enjoyed the movie (whenever Colin Farrell started to speak in a squeaky voice he always reminded me of a leprechaun πŸ˜† ), the plot unfolds very nicely, the characters are great, yet nearing the ending I was anxious because it seemed that the writer and director are of the true-art-is-angsty belief (though the actual ending is open to interpretation). But then again, I guess it’s good in a way, since it teaches you that being bad never pays off in the end. πŸ˜€

Leave a comment